Entrepreneurs, What Would YOU Risk?

It was 30 years ago, that Summer between my Junior and Senior years of college.  I was living with my parents in Danbury, Connecticut and had started dating the boy across the cul-de-sac.  One Sunday afternoon,  we went out on our boat – Me and my Dad – and that boy and his Dad.  We were cruising around Candlewood Lake and anchored across from  “Chicken Rock”.  

“So, who’s ready to risk it?” – my Dad joked. 

Swan DiveEveryone was laughing but I was game.  I dove off the bow, swam to shore and started to climb.  I was game – but not crazy. I climbed to the mid point – about 15 feet up – and jumped into the lake.  As I was swimming back to the boat, my Dad started yelling and pointing at the rock.  I looked back just in time to see that boy.  He had climbed to the highest point – and dove in head first.  Dad even caught it with his camera.

Ya gotta love a guy that’s willing to risk it all.

I did. Five years later, I married him.

What, you may be asking, does this have to do with entrepreneurship?  Well, it’s not that different.  Many will tell you, at one point or another – you have to calculate the risk and take that leap.

Entrepreneurs are a rare breed.  We…

  • assess risk
  • weigh outcomes
  • institute a plan
  • execute it

And when we do it well – we reap the reward.

Sometimes when you take that risk – you end up building a really great business…

and sometimes when you take the leap – you get the girl.  :0)

Thanks for stopping by. Stay Tuned…

Joan Koerber-Walker

4 Responses to Entrepreneurs, What Would YOU Risk?

  1. Joe Williams says:

    You hooked me at “I married him.” 🙂

    I offer that the characteristics of entrepreneurs extend to leadership in general. All of us can take note that a leader assesses risk, weighs outcomes, institutes plans, and executes it with help of a larger team. Maybe we’re all entrepreneurs – or ought to be – at heart.

    Merry Christmas, Joan!

    • Great point Joe. My favorite definition of an entrepreneur is someone that sees a need – understands the risks – takes the action to address the need – and reaps the reward. (The word entrepreneur is derived from the French verb meaning ‘to undertake’.) The same thing can definitely be said of great leaders.

      Best wishes to you and your family for a wonderful Christmas season and a great 2010.

  2. Jim Flowers says:

    Joan,

    One of my friends offered up the term “intelligent audacity” as a useful characterization of the entrepreneurial approach to life. Successful leapers assess the risk, as you point out. They certainly don’t ignore it. But they still leap – when most others would hang back. And sometimes they do get the girl.

    Happy New Year!

